Reviews, rants, and tidbits from an overpassionate novelist

The Printz Award

The Printz Award first caught my eye on the cover of White Darkness (Geraldine McCaughrean) in the media center at my high school. The more I learn about the literary nature of the books that receive them, the more I think it may be a main marker of this “Literary Little League” the wall street journal mentioned. That article, by the way, is here. http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052970204261704574275941028138178.html

The more I learned about the Printz Award and the kinds of books that receive it, the more I like it. I’m very interested in reading the list of winners, including the 2009 winner, Jellicoe Road (Melina Marchetta). Perhaps this would be a good study for me, and even help me develop yet another dream, another goal.

More about the Michael L. Printz Award here:

http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/yalsa/booklistsawards/printzaward/Printz.cfm

Comments on: "The Printz Award" (2)

  1. saturdayjane said:

    Hi, Courtney!

    Just discovered your blog. You are an excellent young writer with a clear voice and clear goals. I’ll be happily adding your page to my bookmarks!

    I’m looking forward to seeing more of your writing!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

