Reviews, rants, and tidbits from an overpassionate novelist

STUDIES OF STORYTELLING

I have a very unique way of battling writer’s block. When I can’t seem to make a story fit together, I go back and review the first fundamentals of storytelling I ever learned…by watching Disney movies.

Yes, this works! I’ve told quite a few other writers about it who’ve seen where I’m coming from. Classic stories told in ways that have caused people to love them all their lives. If you’re shooting to be a bestseller (though maybe not a Pulitzer), why not pay a little attention?

I’ve started making a study of storytelling in everything I watch. As an 18-year-old, I believe I am still entitled to my share of anime and That’s 70’s Show, not to mention movies with friends. I always try to pay attention to character development, narration as the way the story unfolds, the effects of setting and time. I suppose I can attribute it to my teacher Mr. Ford, who invented a class called Film & Fiction in the Fort Mill school district and taught students to appreciate film as art. It was one of the best classes I’ve ever taken.

Writing isn’t the only form of storytelling out there. It’s not even the most popular anymore. There is lots of room for writers to take advantage.

fd98477d22d78a19fa337d15a37d6e96

Comments on: "STUDIES OF STORYTELLING" (3)

  1. Hello,

    I found your blog by googling young adult fantasy. It looks like I’m kind of in a similar situation; I’m a teenager trying to get my YA fantasy published. In fact I’m heading for a writer’s conference at the end of the month. Anyway, glad to meet another teenage author. 🙂

    • courtneydiles said:

      Hello Jacob!

      Wow! I know there are hundreds of us, but this is the first time I’ve run into another young writer who’s serious enough to go to conferences. I’m totally going to go check out your blog now. =)

  2. […] Blog change number two:  I’ve been doing a lot of thinking since I posted Studies of Storytelling, which shares my thoughts on using everything from Disney movies to anime to internet emails to […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

