Reviews, rants, and tidbits from an overpassionate novelist

Again, I made this list with the help of a workshop I received in Cheryl Norman’s Novel Writing Class at the Southeastern Writer’s Workshop.

The Top 7 Downfalls of Writers:

  1. Lack of self-discipline
  2. Failing to use biological time positively (Ex. Are you a morning person? A night person?)
  3. Creating distractions/giving in to them
  4. Failing to finish individual pieces of work
  5. Failing to set goals that are high enough
  6. Not honoring one’s own unique material and VOICE
  7. Failing to acknowledge the duality within the creative person (Ex. Extend yourself! See what you can do.)
Comments on: "THE TOP 7 DOWNFALLS OF WRITERS" (1)

  1. Hey! Just found my way to your blog – and just wanted to say I love your lists! I’m such a list freak – but they help me organize the freakin speeding mega-train of my thoughts – so I’m totally enjoying yours. I’m also writing (aren’t we all?) at zoecourtman.com.

    Great posts.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

